3 States to Pay $400 Extra in Weekly Unemployment Payments

Three states will accept the Trump administration’s full enhanced unemployment benefit while the out-of-work in nearly two dozen other states will get $300 a week.

President Donald Trump on Aug. 8 signed an executive order for a $400 enhanced payment but many governors disparaged the proposed 75-25 split, leading the administration to unveil a second option.

That alternative lets states provide $300 more a week to the unemployed. The money is all from the federal government.

Twenty-one states have sought and been approved for that option.

Three others chose the original option, contributing 25 percent and giving unemployed workers the highest dollar amount available.

“Hands down, period, West Virginia is going to pay it,” West Virginia Gov. Jim Justice, a Republican, told reporters earlier this month. “We do so very willingly.”

The state contribution will likely come out of money given to West Virginia through the CARES Act, a stimulus aimed at providing relief from pandemic-related downturns, that was set aside and not used.

“While there is still some uncertainty in this new program, it is just too important to get these dollars to our families,” Kentucky Gov. Andy Beshear, a Democrat, told reporters on Aug. 19.

Kentucky Gov. Andy Beshear walks to the podium during a media conference at the state’s Emergency Operations Center
Kentucky Gov. Andy Beshear walks to the podium during a media conference to provide an update on the COVID-19 pandemic,  in Frankfort, Ky. on May 3, 2020. (Ryan C. Hermens/Lexington Herald-Leader via AP)

“I believe that extra $100 is critically important,” he added, saying he would use money from the CARES Act.

And Montana sought and received approval for the $400 option last week.

“I’m grateful the Governor and his team was able to quickly assess our state’s wherewithal to meet the state funding match and then act to ensure that unemployed Montanans get the maximum benefit from this interim program,” acting Labor Commissioner Brenda Nordlund said in a statement.

States must file applications with the government to receive the enhanced aid, whether $300 extra a week or $400.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced Friday that Kentucky was approved. Montana was approved on Aug. 18. West Virginia has not been approved yet.

Several states were approved Saturday, bringing the total approved for $300-a-week payments to 21.

Epoch Times Photo
Chalk marker messages are written on the windows of a vehicle participating in a “Drive and March” event held by We…The Entertainment Community of Las Vegas (WE/EC) down the Las Vegas Strip in support of the Las Vegas entertainment industry that has been decimated by pandemic-fueled restrictions, in Las Vegas, Nev., on Aug. 19, 2020. (Ethan Miller/Getty Images)

Those states are: Alabama, Arizona, California, Colorado, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and Vermont.

Twelve other states have already filed applications, or are planning to do so. Those are: Alaska, Arkansas, Connecticut Delaware, Maine, New Hampshire, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Virginia, and Washington state.

South Dakota last week became the first state to officially decline the offer.

“My administration is very grateful for the additional flexibility that this effort would have provided, but South Dakota is in the fortunate position of not needing to accept it. South Dakota’s economy, having never been shut down, has recovered nearly 80% of our job losses,” Gov. Kristi Noem, a Republican, said in a statement.

Officials in 13 states still aren’t sure whether they will apply to FEMA.

Those states are: Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Kansas, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, North Dakota, Minnesota, Oregon, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.


Latest videos